Doctor Who Season 23 Comes to Blu-Ray

Classic series fans get ready, the BBC has confirmed that the next Doctor Who Blu-ray release will be Season 23 featuring Colin Baker as the Sixth Doctor.

The season, comprised of a single 14-episode adventure called The Trial of a Time Lord, will be released, remastered and with new special features, on Monday, September 23.

The new Blu-ray box set’s special features will include:

  • Extended edits – of all 14 episodes
  • Terror of the Vervoids – four-part standalone edition with updated FX
  • Immersive 5.1 surround sound & isolated scores – on all 14 broadcast episodes
  • Behind the Sofa – new episodes with Colin Baker, Nicola Bryant, Bonnie Langford, Mark Strickson, Frazer Hines and Matthew Waterhouse
  • The Writers’ Room – Eric Saward, Philip Martin, Christopher H Bidmead & Waly K Daly discuss the ‘lost’ Season 23
  • The Doctor Who Cookbook Revisited – brave cast members tackle their original recipes from the 1980s official cookbook
  • The Doctor’s Table – join Colin Baker and friends for dinner
  • In Conversation – Matthew Sweet chats to companion Bonnie Langford
  • Unseen studio footage
  • Rare archive treats
  • Convention footage
  • Blu-ray trailer
  • HD photo galleries
  • Scripts, costume designs & more in the PDF Archive

The six-disc set will also include hours of special features previously released on DVD.

Doctor Who: The Collection – Season 23 is now available to pre-order from Amazon.